Home > experience, Life, People, trading > My experience selling a phone at Greenhills

My experience selling a phone at Greenhills

I recently sold my sister’s old Samsung phone in Greenhills to help her pay-off for the new phone she bought. Vira Mall is probably most known for it’s “tiangge” where people can buy almost anything at cheaper prices, although most of them are copied originals. Buying and selling of gadgets is also popular and occupies a large section. You won’t spot any of that when you enter from the mall entrance but once you go deeper, lo and behold! The tiangge area is also accessible from Theater mall or Shoppesville. It’s like they’re all connected inside like tunnels leading to the main chamber. Disclaimer #1: You can as easily lost as well!

 

365227063_5afe1c61f4_o

photo courtesy of Greenhills Shopping Center

 

Photo courtesy of tripadviser.com

 

For my due diligence, I did some research on sulit.com and came up with a pretty good estimate on how much people were buying the Samsung phone for. I used this as my mental price target. When I arrived at the Greenhills tiangge area I looked around before spotting a shop that looked like it would give me a decent price. Unsurprisingly, the shop offered me a price that was 20-30% lower than my mental price target. Indeed they had to re-sell the phone so I couldn’t expect them to give me the current market price for it.

My sister recently replaced her 1-year old Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 for the more modern Starmobile Diamond V3. 

My sister’s phone,however, was very well maintained and complete with the original box and all the accessories so I figured that it should fetch a premium. After a bit of haggling, I just couldn’t let it go at the best price they could offer so I courteously told them that I would look around. They tried to force me to sell it to them, saying that once the shops knew I was going around they wouldn’t entertain me anymore. It immediately reminded me of a big mafia where the shops were all rigged to benefit them but I wanted to believe that the shops still competed against each other as how they should to give me the best price. Disclaimer #2: Depending on the shop, more than one person might talk to you and based on my experience they could exert some peer pressure on those with lesser nerves. Remember it is your right to sell or not to sell. 

Fortunately, I knew the place was big enough so I just had to avoid going to shops that where within visual range of each other so they wouldn’t know that I had been going around. After visiting a few shops though, it was clear that they all had a fixed price for the phone. To no avail, they must have had some kind of internal price agreement with the gadgets they buy and sell. As I was down on my luck and finally just wanted to get rid of the phone to the next shop I visited, another shopper who saw me showing off the phone called my attention.

To my surprise, he was interested in buying the phone! I gave the best sales talk I could and offered to sell it to him at a price that was still at a substantial discount to my mental price(which was based on actual market prices) but still higher than what the shops offered. In the end, I had to concede a few but I was able to close the deal! It was a win-win situation. My time wasn’t wasted and it was surely a great experience for me. I would think that some might have found the whole experience traumatic but learning to deal with all kinds of people at any situation is priceless. As with all, preparation, patience, some luck and opportunity, all came into play.

For those wondering, I could have sold the phone at sulit.com and possibly earned a few hundred more but we wanted to raise the cash fast and I didn’t want to spend the time having to respond the inquiries and meet-ups. In the end, the trade-off for hassle and time wasn’t worth it to me. I knew the shops at GH were ready buyers but luckily I was able to sell to an end customer that gave me a better price.   

Categories: experience, Life, People, trading
  1. August 20, 2013 at 7:35 am

    Very useful :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

